About this Issue

Graduate Alumni Benefit North Carolina

The Fountain is an annual publication of the Graduate School of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The purpose of this publication is to showcase the achievements of graduate students, to inform readers about new Carolina graduate education programs and activities, and to highlight the important impact of private funding on graduate education at Carolina. The Fountain is supported by private gifts from generous alumni, friends and donors of the Graduate School.

This year’s edition of The Fountain takes a closer look at the impact of graduate alumni on the state of North Carolina.

It highlights a small sample of people who are using their graduate degrees to make a difference in the lives of North Carolinians. The profiles of these graduate alumni are representative of the many others who are contributing to the economic, cultural, political and social vitality of the Tar Heel state.

In conjunction with this year’s issue, we are also launching our redesigned Web site. The Fountain’s new online presence includes the articles in this issue, as well as regularly updated Web-only content and timely news about the achievements of graduate students at Carolina. The new Web site provides a regular source of information about graduate education at UNC-Chapel Hill. Please visit us online at http://fountain.unc.edu.

The Fountain is produced by graduate students under the guidance of Sandra Hoeflich, Associate Dean for Interdisciplinary Education, Fellowships and Communication. J. Todd Brantley is the Senior Editor and Jeremy Cramer is the Junior Editor. Luca Semprini and Tiffany N. White are contributing writers. All four are master’s candidates in the School of Journalism and Mass Communication.

We hope you will enjoy this year’s issue and our new Web site. We welcome your suggestions of other Tar Heels working in North Carolina. Please send your ideas and feedback to sandra_hoeflich@unc.edu.

—The Fountain Staff

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
200 Bynum Hall, CB# 4010
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-4010

A special thanks to our donors: The Fountain is produced exclusively with private funding.


Graduate School Dean:
Steven Matson
Associate Dean for Interdisciplinary Education, Fellowships and Communication:
Sandra Hoeflich
Senior Editor:
J. Todd Brantley, School of Journalism & Mass Communication
Junior Editor:
Jeremy Cramer, School of Journalism & Mass Communication
Contributing writers:
Luca Semprini and Tiffany N. White, School of Journalism & Mass Communication
Copy Editor:
Carol Douglas
Will Owens, unless noted
Photography Coordinators:
Katie Biasi and Pamela Munch
Blue Frog Design, L.L.C.
Web Designer:
Rachell Underhill


To the members of the Graduate Education Advancement Board for their invaluable assistance and support.

GEAB Board Members

  • Penny Aldrich
  • Donald Buckley
  • F. Ivy Carroll
  • Timothy Crowder
  • William Darity
  • Lana Dial
  • David Edwards
  • Donna Falvo
  • Jean Grainger
  • Boka Hadzija
  • Michael Harpold
  • Frances Hoch
  • Luther Hodges
  • Verla Insko
  • M. Ross Johnson
  • Robert Laport
  • Bibb Latané
  • Howard Lee
  • David Lewis
  • Susan Lord
  • David McCoy
  • David McNelis
  • Philip Nelson
  • Gerry Oxford
  • Laurie Sanford
  • Kenneth Smith
  • Carol Smithwick
  • Peace Sullivan
  • Priscilla Taylor
  • Beth Whitaker
  • Edwin Yoder, Jr.

Emeritus Board Members

  • Juanita Kreps
  • Lyle Jones
  • Charles Weiss
  • Shirley Weiss

Honorary Board Members

  • William Friday
  • Barbara Hardin
  • Paul Hardin
  • Caroline H. Royster